Interview with FSB | In our interview serie we ask designer and manufacturer to answer the same 6 questions about their company, their idea about design and sustainability and what is important for them.

Following the answers from Project Manager Architecture Wolfgang Reul.

 

About FSB

The FSB acronym is a world-known brand for visually and functionally top-quality system solutions for doors, windows – and a lot more. The specialist expertise we have amassed in over 135 years in business has, given rise to more than “just” premium door handles that have found their way into New York’s Museum of Modern Art. Another reason architects, builders and clients favour products from Brakel is that FSB has an advanced understanding of the requirements of modern Public Project construction. FSB caters to all aspects of handle culture in built spaces to a single source.

What is sustainable about your products?

The term “sustainable” has been used by FSB since a time when “ecology” was a peripheral issue for society. In late 1995 FSB became the first company in North Rhine-Westphalia and the second in Germany as a whole to pass the EU’s “eco-audit”. FSB is a pioneer in the spheres of “green building” and environmental compatibility; it has produced Environmental Declarations pursuant to EN 15804 for specific materials and ranges that apply to its entire stock range of more than 25,000 different items. FSB sees sustainability as being synonymous in no small measure with enduring dependability. That its products outperform and the relevant standards is demonstrated both by corresponding tests and trials as well as in day-to-day use.

What is good design?

Good design is pleasing to both hand and eye; it is useful and appealing in equal measure. The ideas we stand for have their roots in the early 1950s: FSB’s then “in-house designer” Johannes Potente developed his path-breaking moulded-to-the-hand design, one that is still topical today, between 1953 and 1963. We subjected our activities to critical analysis in the 1980s under the intellectual guidance of designer-cum-mentor Otl Aicher, and in the process came up with a series of defining principles that are still valid today. A fundamentally new design culture was born that, as well as addressing itself to the company’s origins and tradition, is also rooted in the cultural history of handles in particular and the concept of holding things in general. As a yardstick with which to identify good handle design from then on, Mr Aicher devised a “Four-Point Guide to Good Grip” stating that any good handle will feature a thumbrest, a forefinger furrow, support for the palm and sufficient gripping bulk. This Four-Point Guide underpins all the work we do in developing our “functional add-ons to the human hand”. There is now also a great need, moreover, and will be from now on, to ensure complex functional and technological processes can be handled in as straightforward and intuitive a manner as possible.

 

Which are the 3 most suitable adjectives to describe this and why?

Personal: good design tells a unique story.

Timeless: good design points beyond fads and trends.

Durable: good design lasts longer than any maker would consider desirable from a strictly commercial point of view.

What is the secret to your success?

FSB sees a building’s shell and interior design as constituting an all-embracing work (of art) to which shape is lent through a mix of stylistic coherence, functional intermeshing and the resultant aesthetic, emotional and utilitarian value. Taken to its logical conclusion, this is a product philosophy geared towards top-class quality and, hence, sustainability too. It’s all about creating buildings that can be made functional use of for long to come whilst also fulfilling the individual requirements of their users. FSB caters to every aspect of handle culture in built space from a single source.

Door pulls and handles are architecture in miniature: FSB feels that the decision to opt for a given door handle model always needs to be taken bearing the surrounding architecture in mind. A space’s idiom, after all, articulates itself in compressed form in a handle’s design. Either the handle becomes a harmonious part of the whole, or else it quite deliberately sets itself apart. The FSB product range contains designs for any variant of contemporary and classical architecture.

The new millennium has also seen the advent of digitisation in doors: electronic access management solutions combine the design and convenience of both worlds. FSB has rethought what, until some time into the 17th century, was a tried and tested integral system of operating and locking doors by purely mechanical means and lent it a modern guise in the context of digital building organisation.

The accessing of architecture does not stop at the door for FSB. An ageing society also needs solutions that make “the spaces themselves” easier to handle. FSB’s barrier-free ErgoSystem® places at the user’s disposal a system of hand-holds and versatile accessories that make everyday routines in, for instance, sanitary and bathroom areas safer and more convenient.

What are the greatest challenges for design in future?

Designing what is good and right is a process involving a range of disciplines that is unthinkable without an open-minded approach, one that in our own case means venturing beyond our Brakel backyard. That’s more applicable than ever these days, and is set to stay that way. We are living in an age of increasing speed and complexity, be it socially, culturally or technologically. That’s also the case where design is concerned. Our work revolves around developing unique products that are both formally and functionally compelling and are of service to those who render architecture useable. We aspire to establish new products with an enduring appeal – and ideally to create true classics in the best FSB tradition.

What do you like about InteriorPark.?

InteriorPark. forges an authoritative, likeable link between design, architecture and sustainability. It serves as a superlative source of digital inspiration for architects, builders’ clients and planners – an offering rounded off by “real” discourse and networking in the form of talks and events.

 

More interviews:

Interview mit FSB | In unserer Interview Serie beantworten Designer und Hersteller die immer 6 gleichen Fragen zu ihrem Unternehmen, ihrer Idee von Design und Nachhaltigkeit und was ihnen wichtig ist.

Hier die Antworten von Projektmanager Architektur Wolfgang Reul.

Über FSB

Das Kürzel FSB ist weltweit ein Synonym für ästhetisch und funktional hochwertige Systemlösungen für Türen und Fenster – und darüber hinaus. Aus einer in über 135 Jahren erworbenen Sachkompetenz entstehen aber nicht „nur“ Türdrücker in Spitzenqualität, die es bis in die Sammlung des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art gebracht haben. Architekten und Bauherren greifen bevorzugt nach Produkten aus Brakel, weil sie bei FSB ein ausgeprägtes Verständnis für die Anforderungen des modernen Objektbaus antreffen. Ob klassischer Beschlag, barrierefreies ErgoSystem® oder elektronisches Zutrittsmanagement: Alles, was im umbauten Raum mit Greifen und Griffen in Zusammenhang steht, wird von FSB aus einer Hand bedient.

Was ist an Ihren Produkten nachhaltig?

„Nachhaltig“ hat FSB bereits gehandelt, als sogar „Ökologie“ noch ein gesellschaftliches Randthema war. Ende 1995 wurden wir als erstes Unternehmen in Nordrhein-Westfalen und als zweites Unternehmen bundesweit nach den Regeln des EU-Öko-Audits auditiert. Beim Thema „Green Building“ zählt FSB zu den Vorreitern und kann mit material- und sortimentsspezifischen Umweltdeklarationen nach EN 15 804 aufwarten – gültig für das vollständige Liefersortiment mit mehr als 25.000 Artikeln. Unter Nachhaltigkeit versteht FSB nicht zuletzt langlebige Zuverlässigkeit. Dass unsere Produkte dabei besser als die Norm sind, beweist sich sowohl in eingehenden Tests und Prüfungen als auch im alltäglichen Einsatz.

Was ist gutes Design?

Gutes Design erfreut die Hand wie auch das Auge; es nützt und gefällt in gleichem Maße. Unsere Idealvorstellungen haben ihren Ausgangspunkt in den frühen 1950er Jahren: Der damalige FSB „Hausdesigner“ Johannes Potente entwickelte zwischen 1953 und 1963 sein wegweisendes und noch heute gültiges Handformdesign. In den 1980er Jahren haben wir unser Tun unter der geistigen Führung des Gestalters und Mentors Otl Aicher grundlegend hinterfragt und bis heute gültige Leitsätze entwickelt. Es entstand eine neue Designkultur, die auf einer Auseinandersetzung mit der Herkunft und Tradition des Unternehmens, der Kulturgeschichte der Klinke im speziellen und der des Greifens an sich basiert. Aicher ersann die „Vier Gebote des Greifens”, die für die Beurteilung guten Klinkendesigns fortan als Richtschnur dienen sollten: Nur derjenige Türdrücker wird seiner Aufgabe gerecht, der Daumenbremse, Zeigefingerkuhle, Ballenstütze und Greifvolumen aufweist. Diese Gebote des Greifens sind unsere Basis bei der Entwicklung von „Werkzeugen zur Verlängerung der Hand“. Heute und in Zukunft geht es zudem in hohem Maße darum, komplexe funktionale und technologische Prozesse so leicht und intuitiv wie möglich handhabbar zu machen.

Was sind dafür die 3 passendsten Adjektive?

Persönlich: Gutes Design erzählt eine einzigartige Geschichte.

Zeitlos: Gutes Design weist über Moden und Trends hinaus.

Langlebig: Gutes Design hält länger, als dem Hersteller aus betriebswirtschaftlicher Sicht lieb sein dürfte.

Was ist Ihr Erfolgsrezept?

Gebäudehülle und Innenausstattung sind für FSB ein Gesamt(kunst)werk, das aus der stilistischen Stimmigkeit, dem funktionalen Ineinandergreifen und dem daraus resultierenden ästhetischen, emotionalen und gebräuchlichen Wert entsteht. Dies bedeutet in seiner Konsequenz eine auf erstklassige Qualität ausgerichtete und damit nachhaltige Produktphilosophie. Es geht darum, Gebäude zu schaffen, die auf lange Sicht funktional nutzbar sind und den individuellen Bedürfnissen ihrer Nutzer gerecht werden. Alles, was im umbauten Raum mit Greifen und Griffen in Zusammenhang steht, wird von FSB aus einer Hand bedient.

Türgriffe bzw. Türklinken sind Architektur en miniature: FSB ist der Meinung, dass die Entscheidung für einen Türgriff immer im Kontext mit der umgebenden Architektur zu treffen ist. In seiner Gestaltung komprimiert sich die Sprache des Raumes. Er wird zu einem harmonischen Teil des Ganzen – oder akzentuiert ganz bewusst einen formalen Widerspruch. Das FSB Sortiment hält Entwürfe für jedwede Ausprägung zeitgenössischer und klassischer Architektur bereit.

Im neuen Jahrtausend hat die Digitalisierung auch an der Tür Einzug gehalten: Elektronische Zutrittsmanagementlösungen vereinen die Design- und Komfortmerkmale beider Welten. Was sich auf rein mechanischem Wege bis in das 17. Jahrhundert hinein als eine integrale Einheit zum Bedienen und Verschließen von Türen bewährt hat, wird von FSB zum Zwecke der digitalen Gebäudeorganisation neu gedacht und zeitgemäß übersetzt.

Für FSB endet das Erschließen von Architektur aber nicht an der Tür. Eine älter werdende Gesellschaft benötigt Lösungen, die „Räume an sich“ leichter handhabbar machen. Mit dem barrierefreien ErgoSystem® gibt FSB dem Menschen ein System von Griffen und vielfältigen Accessoires in die Hand, das alltägliche Abläufe z. B. in Sanitär- und Badebereichen komfortabler und sicherer gestaltet.

Was sind im Design die größten Herausforderungen in der Zukunft?

Die Gestaltung des Richtigen und Guten vollzieht sich in der Zusammenarbeit unterschiedlicher Disziplinen und ist undenkbar ohne einen aufgeschlossenen Blick, der in unserem Falle auch über den Brakeler Tellerrand hinausgeht. Das gilt heute und in Zukunft mehr denn je. Ob gesellschaftlich, kulturell oder in Hinblick auf Technologien: Wir leben in einer Zeit der Beschleunigung und zunehmender Komplexität. Das gilt auch für das Design. Die Entwicklung einzigartiger und formal wie funktional überzeugender Produkte, die dem Menschen bei der Nutzbarmachung von Architektur dienlich sind, steht im Mittelpunkt unserer Arbeit. Wir wollen neue Produkte langfristig etablieren – und im besten Falle und bester FSB Tradition wahre Klassiker erschaffen.

Was gefällt Ihnen an InteriorPark.?

InteriorPark. schlägt kompetent und sympathisch die Brücke zwischen Design, Architektur und Nachhaltigkeit. Für Architekten, Bauherren und Planer bietet InteriorPark eine großartige digitale Inspirationsquelle – abgerundet mit „realem“ Diskurs und Networking in Form von Vorträgen und Veranstaltungen.

 

Weitere Interviews: