Because aesthetics alone is not always enough

BARKTEX®_functionals is made from BARKTEX®_aesthetics or the traditionally made BARK CLOTH, in order to meet modern requirements on functionality for various applications.

Several textile, wood, leather or polymer technologies are used to achieve the functional finished. The functions/ equipment/ processes listed here are applicable to BARK CLOTH and almost all BARKTEX®_aesthetics and can be combined in part. We are pleased to advise you on a project-specific basis.

BARKTEX®_Acoustics_0100

Individual solutions in sound absorption. Are you also sick of those eternal perforated or slit boards? Hungry for going new paths? What about the world’s largest sound absorbing solution with a surface free of pattern repeats? We can offer these with at least 5 000 x 15 000 cm free of fouls, with no rapport. One has to first come up with this idea.

BARKTEX®_Fire-resistant_0533

Fire resistant finishing according to the latest EU requirements EU standard DIN EN 13823, partly identical with the “old” German industrial standard DIN 4102 B1. Available for BARK CLOTH and most types of BARKTEX®_aesthetics.

BARKTEX®_Eco-coat_0580

Ecological coating for increased softness, water repellancy and optimized abrasion resistance. 100% organic. The cloth is finihed in a multistage process: first soaked with liquid lanolin (a sheepswoolwax derivate) and after drying it is brushed with a mixture of hard carnauba wax, shiny beeswax, and orange peel oil, before finally it is ironed so that ideally each single fiber is coated purely organically. We do recommend the BARKTEX®_Stainguard_0511 finish in addition (see below). Thus, it provides adaequate protection for the use as e.g. furniture fronts, or for fashion accessories, and partly even shoes. The material is sometimes used for furniture upholstery, but it is not a certified upholstery fabric. The finish is available for BARK CLOTH and most types of BARKTEX®_aesthetics. With beeswax and lanoline, this finish does contain a small portion of animal additives. If you are looking for a purely vegan solution, please check for BARKTEX®_No-buffalo.

BARKTEX®_Stainguard_0511

Stain protection finishing. Water and oil repellency, and resistance to general dry soiling. Available for BARK CLOTH and most BARKTEX®_aesthetic products. Like many other wooden materials, also tree bark fleece offers antimicrobiotic and cytotoxic properties. Therefore, they are generally less prone to staining than e.g., cotton or most synthetics. For this reason, we do not recommend a stain protection finish for all purposes.

BARKTEX®_Softgrip_0517

The tree bark fleece for softies. Increased skin sympathy, voluminous touch effect, as well as significantly increased suppleness and elasticity is provided by a softening finishing process. Feels a bit artificial, you might still remember these babyfeel-grip added textiles from your childhood . Can be used for clothing, but is only required for exceptional purposes. Available for BARK CLOTH and most BARKTEX®_aesthetic products.

BARKTEX®_Laminated_055x

Available on a wide selection of fabric- or synthetic laminated BARK CLOTH or BARKTEX®_aesthetic products. Increases tensile strength and for some applications simplifies the workability. It is also useful if the backside should be visible in another look. Laminated bark products are used in the various sectors. The applicability of laminating materials with different properties depends on the intended use. The most commonly used materials are cotton fabrics and PE fleece. Silk adds class and gracefulness. Awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Material ConneXion, New York. Contact us if you wish to use non-flexible materials such as wood products/veneers or between or under/over glass or PETG/PMMA. For special requirements we can arrange contact with experienced finishing specialists.

Process Optimization

Many of these processes take place in our manufactory in Uganda – using additives which are strictly either self-made or produced in Germany. Thus, a maximum value is generated on the spot and income is generated in a structurally weak region. We can therefore offer the extremely labor-intensive semi-finished products at a fair price-performance ratio for everyone involved: the customers, the employees and ourselves.

Some of the products are finished in Germany either by commission processing or in our studio. This Ugandan-German double-track approach creates flexibility and reliability. Most of the BARKTEX® specialties are permanently available from our warehouse in Germany. Others are tailor-made according to your requirements.

Discover a unique material

Each piece is an exquisitely handcrafted individual

Designers and architects value the expressive character, unique texture and sensual tactility of the bark cloth tree bark fleece. Depending on lighting conditions, angle of viewing, finishing, and temperament of its producer the soft, moldable cloth changes from the supple, but robust charm of leather to the translucent and graceful lightness of filmy fleeces.

“The allure of this exceptional material comes from its inimitable structure and the fascinating game played between ancient authenticity and state-of-the-art finishes and uses… It is ideal to serve for products and architectural projects where individuality plays a central role”

Humberto Campana

Pure and real, thousands of years old, though ahead of its time, it concentrates style and design down to the bare essentials. For whichever application, you are sure to use a unique masterpiece.

Fascination of nature

Bark Cloth tree bark fleece, a textile without any additives.

Exactly one cloth is created from the bark of one tree. The harvesting of the bark and its subsequent processing are carried out exclusively by handwork. Only if trained hands were at work during harvest and processing, can we offer nature in perfection. For not everyone is master of the great art of tree peeling and the ancient, traditionally handed down knowledge of bark processing.

In contrast to most other nature-based solutions available on market, this so-called monomaterial does not contain any binders, dyes or other additives. It contains the bark fiber only, which is chemically broken down to cellulose, hemicellulose, tannins and traces of minerals.

On the production side, each square meter of Bark Cloth requires less than one liter of water. Since it is produced with muscle power only, and since the basic metabolic rate of a hard working man is only slightly higher than the metabolic rate of a man, resting lazy in a hammock, its production is CO2 – neutral. And if the natural CO2 – binding effect of Mutuba trees is included in the carbon footprint, Bark Cloth manufacturing is even CO2 – positive. No other textile offers such a favorable eco balance.

 

Product description of manufacturer

Weil Ästhetik alleine nicht immer genügt

BARKTEX®_functionals entsteht aus BARKTEX®_aesthetics oder dem traditionell gefertigten Baumrindenvlies Bark Cloth, um modernen Ansprüchen an Funktionalität für verschiedene Einsatzzwecke zu genügen.

Dabei kommen unterschiedlichste Verfahren der Textil-, Holz-, Leder- oder Kunststofftechnologie zum Einsatz. Die hier aufgeführten Funktionen/Ausrüstungen/Prozesse sind für Bark Cloth und fast alle BARKTEX®_aesthetics anwendbar und teilweise miteinander kombinierbar. Gerne beraten wir Sie projektspezifisch.

BARKTEX®_Acoustics_0100

Individuelle Lösungen in der Schallabsorption. Sind auch Sie die ewige Akustikloch- oder Schlitzplatte satt? Hungrig auf neue Wege? Wie wäre es mit der größten rapportfreien Akustiklösung der Welt? Wir können 5000 x 15000 cm und mehr: ohne Stöße und ohne wiederkehrendes Muster. Auf die Idee muss man erst mal kommen.

BARKTEX®_Fire-resistant_0533

Brandschutzausrüstung nach dem neuesten EU-Standard DIN EN 13823, in weiten Teilen entsprechend dem alten deutschen Standard DIN 4102 B1.

BARKTEX®_Eco-coat_0580

Ökologische Beschichtung für erhöhte Geschmeidigkeit, Wasserabweisung und optimiertes Abriebverhalten. 100% organisch. Das Tuch wird in einem mehrstufigen Prozess mit flüssigem Lanolin (ein Schafswollwachsderivat) getränkt und nach dem trocknen mit Bienen- und Carnaubawachs und Orangenschalenöl eingebürstet und anschließend gebügelt. Ideal in Kombination mit einem Fleckschutzauftrag. Somit bietet es ausreichenden Schutz für den Einsatz z.B. an Möbelfronten. Das Material wird mitunter zur Verpolsterung verwendet – ist aber kein zertifizierter Polsterstoff. Anwendbar auf BARK CLOTH® und die meisten BARKTEX®. Die Ausrüstung enthält mit Bienenwachs und Lanolin einen geringen Anteil tierischer Additive. Sollten Sie eine vegane Lösung anstreben, beachten Sie bitte unser neues BARKTEX®_No-Buffalo.

BARKTEX®_Stainguard_0511

Fleckschutzausrüstung. Wasser- und Ölabweisung sowie Resistenz gegen allgemeine Trockenanschmutzung. Anwendbar auf BARK CLOTH® und die meisten BARKTEX®. Da das Baumrindenvlies so wie auch einige Holzprodukte aufgrund seiner natürlichen antimikrobiellen und zytotoxischen Wirkung allerdings generell weniger stark anschmutzt als z. B. Baumwolle oder die meisten Synthetics, ist ein Fleckschutz für viele Zwecke nicht erforderlich.

BARKTEX®_Softgrip_0517

Das Rindentuch® für Softies. Mit Weichmacherausrüstung – erhöhte Hautsympathie, voluminöser Griffeffekt, deutlich erhöhte Geschmeidigkeit und Elastizität. Kann für Bekleidungszwecke eine Rolle spielen, ist jedoch nur für Ausnahmezwecke erforderlich. Anwendbar auf BARK CLOTH® und die meisten BARKTEX®.

BARKTEX®_Laminated_055x

Auf eine breite Auswahl von Geweben oder Vliesen kaschiertes BARK CLOTH® oder BARKTEX®. Erhöht die Reißfestigkeit und vereinfacht für manche Anwendungen die Verarbeitbarkeit. Sinnvoll auch, wenn z.B. die Rückseite in einem anderen Look erscheinen soll. Kaschierte Rindenstoffe finden in verschiedenen Branchen Anwendung. Je nach beabsichtigter Verwendung eignen sich Kaschiermaterialien mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften. Die häufigsten Materialien zum kaschieren sind Baumwoll- oder PE-Vlies. Edel und leicht wirkt Seide. Ausgezeichnet mit einem Certificate of Excellence von Material ConneXion, New York. Sprechen Sie uns auch an, wenn Sie auf nicht-flexible Materialien wie Holzwerkstoffe kaschieren/furnieren möchten sowie zwischen oder hinter/über Glas oder PETG/PMMA. Bei speziellen Anforderungen empfehlen wir gerne  erfahrene Verarbeiter.

Prozessoptimierung

Viele dieser Prozesse erfolgen in unserer Manufaktur in Uganda – mit ausschließlich selbstfertigten oder in Deutschland hergestellten Additiven. So wird vor Ort ein möglichst hoher Mehrwert erzeugt und in einer strukturell schwachen Region Einkommen geschafft. Daher auch können wir Ihnen die extrem arbeitsintensiven Halbzeuge zu einem für alle Beteiligten fairen Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis anbieten.

Einige der Verfahren nehmen wir in unserem Atelier in Deutschland vor oder lassen in Lohnarbeit veredeln. Diese zweigleisige Vorgehensweise schafft Flexibilität und Liefersicherheit. Die meisten BARKTEX® Spezialitäten halten wir stets in unserem Lager bei Freiburg/Breisgau vor, andere werden auftragsbezogen nach Ihren Vorgaben maßgefertigt.

Entdecken Sie ein einzigartiges Material

Jedes Exemplar ist exquisit handgefertigt

Designer und Architekten schätzen den ausdrucksstarken Charakter, die einzigartige Textur und die sinnliche Haptik der Baumrindenvliese. Je nach Lichtsituation und Blickwinkel gewinnt das weiche, aber robuste Material die Anmutung von Leder oder die Leichtigkeit und Transluzenz eines zarten Organza-Stoffs.

„Der Reiz dieses ungewöhnlichen Materials liegt in seiner einzigartigen Struktur und der spannenden Verbindung von archaischer Ursprünglichkeit und neuzeitlichen Veredelungs- und Verwendungsmöglichkeiten… Damit ist es wie geschaffen für den Einsatz in Produkten und architektonischen Anwendungen, bei denen hohe Individualität eine zentrale Rolle spielt.“

Humberto Campana

Pur und echt, entstanden in einem über tausende Jahre perfektioniertem Prozess und dennoch seiner Zeit voraus, reduziert es Stil und Form auf das Wesentliche. Für welche Anwendung auch immer, Sie nutzen stets ein einzigartiges Meisterwerk.

Faszination Natur

Ein Baumrindenvlies frei von jeglichen Additiven.

Aus der Rinde eines Baums entsteht genau ein Tuch. Die Rindenernte und anschließende Bearbeitung erfolgen ausschließlich handwerklich. Nur wenn bei der Ernte und nachfolgenden Fertigung des Rindentuchs geschulte Hände am Werk waren, können wir Natur in Perfektion bieten. Denn nicht jeder beherrscht die Hohe Kunst des Baumschälens und die uralten, tradierten Kenntnisse der Rindenbearbeitung.

Im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen im Markt verfügbaren naturbasierten Lösungen enthält dieses sog. Monomaterial keinerlei Binder, Farben oder sonstige Additive. Je Quadratmeter Bark Cloth wird produktionsseitig weniger als ein Liter Wasser benötigt. Da es ausschließlich mit Muskelkraft gefertigt wird und der Grundumsatz eines hart arbeitenden gegenüber eines faul in der Hängematte liegenden Menschen nur unwesentlich höher ist, ist seine Produktion CO2-neutral. Wird die natürliche CO2-Bindung des Mutuba-Baums in die Ökobilanz einbezogen, ist die Rindentuchproduktion sogar CO2-positiv. Kein anderes Textil kann mit einer solch günstigen Bilanz aufwarten.

 

Produktbeschreibung des Herstellers