Bark Cloth goes BARKTEX®

BARKTEX® is made from the traditionally manufactured bark cloth.

Through a variety of textile, wood, leather and polymer technology, it undergoes a metamorphosis that makes it even more beautiful (BARKTEX®_aesthetics) and/or gives it additional functions (BARKTEX®_functionals).

Many of these processes take place in our manufactory in Uganda – using additives which are strictly either self-made or produced in Germany. Thus, a maximum value is generated on the spot and income is generated in a structurally weak region. We can therefore offer the extremely labor-intensive semi-finished products at a fair price-performance ratio for everyone involved: the customers, the employees and ourselves.

Some of the products are finished in Germany either by commission processing or in our studio. This Ugandan-German double-track approach creates flexibility and reliability. Most of the BARKTEX® specialties are permanently available from our warehouse in Germany. Others are tailor-made according to your requirements.


The architectural office GRAFT uses BARKTEX® aesthetics_ivory_0303 for a loft in Hamburg.

Discover a unique material

Each piece is an exquisitely handcrafted individual

Designers and architects value the expressive character, unique texture and sensual tactility of the bark cloth tree bark fleece. Depending on lighting conditions, angle of viewing, finishing, and temperament of its producer the soft, moldable cloth changes from the supple, but robust charm of leather to the translucent and graceful lightness of filmy fleeces.

“The allure of this exceptional material comes from its inimitable structure and the fascinating game played between ancient authenticity and state-of-the-art finishes and uses… It is ideal to serve for products and architectural projects where individuality plays a central role”

Humberto Campana

Pure and real, thousands of years old, though ahead of its time, it concentrates style and design down to the bare essentials. For whichever application, you are sure to use a unique masterpiece.


Use of BARKTEX® MilkyWay_0801 in a bakery.

Fascination of nature

Bark Cloth tree bark fleece, a textile without any additives.

Exactly one cloth is created from the bark of one tree. The harvesting of the bark and its subsequent processing are carried out exclusively by handwork. Only if trained hands were at work during harvest and processing, can we offer nature in perfection. For not everyone is master of the great art of tree peeling and the ancient, traditionally handed down knowledge of bark processing.


Use of BARKTEX® Stripes’n’Sprinkles_0810 at the Nando’s Restaurant in Dundee, Scotland

In contrast to most other nature-based solutions available on market, this so-called monomaterial does not contain any binders, dyes or other additives. It contains the bark fiber only, which is chemically broken down to cellulose, hemicellulose, tannins and traces of minerals.

On the production side, each square meter of Bark Cloth requires less than one liter of water.  Since it is produced with muscle power only, and since the basic metabolic rate of a hard working man is only slightly higher than the metabolic rate of a man, resting lazy in a hammock, its production is CO2 – neutral. And if the natural CO2 – binding effect of Mutuba trees is included in the carbon footprint, Bark Cloth manufacturing is even CO2 – positive. No other textile offers such a favorable eco balance.


Retail Design:  Use of BARKTEX® Natural_colors_0411 in the men fashion house Eckerle in Munich.

Product description of manufacturer

Bark Cloth goes BARKTEX®

BARKTEX® entsteht aus dem traditionell gefertigten Baumrindenvlies Bark Cloth.

Durch diverse Ausrüstungsverfahren der Textil-, Holz-, Leder- und Kunststofftechnologie durchläuft es eine Metamorphose, die es noch schöner machen: BARKTEX®_aesthetics und/oder ihm zusätzliche Funktionen verleihen: BARKTEX®_functionals.

Viele dieser Prozesse erfolgen in unserer Manufaktur in Uganda – mit ausschließlich selbstfertigten oder in Deutschland hergestellten Additiven. So wird vor Ort ein möglichst hoher Mehrwert erzeugt und in einer strukturell schwachen Region Einkommen geschafft. Daher auch können wir Ihnen die extrem arbeitsintensiven Halbzeuge zu einem für alle Beteiligten fairen Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis anbieten.

Einige der Verfahren nehmen wir in unserem Atelier in Deutschland vor oder lassen in Lohnarbeit veredeln. Diese zweigleisige Vorgehensweise schafft Flexibilität und Liefersicherheit. Die meisten BARKTEX® Spezialitäten halten wir stets in unserem Lager bei Freiburg/Breisgau vor, andere werden auftragsbezogen nach Ihren Vorgaben maßgefertigt.


Das Architekturbüro GRAFT setzt BARKTEX® aesthetics_ivory_0303 in einem Hamburger Loft ein.

Entdecken Sie ein einzigartiges Material

Jedes Exemplar ist exquisit handgefertigt

Designer und Architekten schätzen den ausdrucksstarken Charakter, die einzigartige Textur und die sinnliche Haptik der Baumrindenvliese. Je nach Lichtsituation und Blickwinkel gewinnt das weiche, aber robuste Material die Anmutung von Leder oder die Leichtigkeit und Transluzenz eines zarten Organza-Stoffs.

„Der Reiz dieses ungewöhnlichen Materials liegt in seiner einzigartigen Struktur und der spannenden Verbindung von archaischer Ursprünglichkeit und neuzeitlichen Veredelungs- und Verwendungsmöglichkeiten… Damit ist es wie geschaffen für den Einsatz in Produkten und architektonischen Anwendungen, bei denen hohe Individualität eine zentrale Rolle spielt.“

Humberto Campana

Pur und echt, entstanden in einem über tausende Jahre perfektioniertem Prozess und dennoch seiner Zeit voraus, reduziert es Stil und Form auf das Wesentliche. Für welche Anwendung auch immer, Sie nutzen stets ein einzigartiges Meisterwerk.


Einsatz von BARKTEX® MilkyWay_0801 in einer Bäckerei.

Faszination Natur

Ein Baumrindenvlies frei von jeglichen Additiven.

Aus der Rinde eines Baums entsteht genau ein Tuch. Die Rindenernte und anschließende Bearbeitung erfolgen ausschließlich handwerklich. Nur wenn bei der Ernte und nachfolgenden Fertigung des Rindentuchs geschulte Hände am Werk waren, können wir Natur in Perfektion bieten. Denn nicht jeder beherrscht die Hohe Kunst des Baumschälens und die uralten, tradierten Kenntnisse der Rindenbearbeitung.


Einsatz von BARKTEX® Stripes’n’Sprinkles_0810 im Nando’s Restaurant in Dundee, Schottland

Im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen im Markt verfügbaren naturbasierten Lösungen enthält dieses sog. Monomaterial keinerlei Binder, Farben oder sonstige Additive. Je Quadratmeter Bark Cloth wird produktionsseitig weniger als ein Liter Wasser benötigt. Da es ausschließlich mit Muskelkraft gefertigt wird und der Grundumsatz eines hart arbeitenden gegenüber eines faul in der Hängematte liegenden Menschen nur unwesentlich höher ist, ist seine Produktion CO2-neutral. Wird die natürliche CO2-Bindung des Mutuba-Baums in die Ökobilanz einbezogen, ist die Rindentuchproduktion sogar CO2-positiv. Kein anderes Textil kann mit einer solch günstigen Bilanz aufwarten.


Retail Design: Einsatz BARKTEX® Natural_colors_0411 im Herren Modehaus Eckerle in München.

Produktbeschreibung des Herstellers