An intercultural family venture – Est. 1999

Cutting-edge finishes on ancient biomaterials.

The Ugandan-German family venture BARK CLOTH is pioneer of systematic bark cloth development and production, dedicated to the continuing cooperation with small-scale organic farmers from Uganda – since 9.9.1999.

The Barongo-Heintz family plucked up courage and went on their way to giving more functionality to the Cloth from Trees through state-of-the-art, but socio-economically and infrastructurally adjusted processes: Bark Cloth goes BARKTEX®. New, worldwide unique textiles and fiber composites are constantly developed and produced in our manufactories in Uganda and Germany – usually in low energy, partly CO2-emission-free processes. In uniting Africa’s sumptuous skills, ornamental arts and improvisational ability with innovative finishes, European functionality and a pinch of Zen, it becomes a global material.

Founders and owners Mary Barongo and Oliver Heintz.

Hand in hand with well known universities and research institutions, such as Design Academy Eindhoven, London Metropolitan University, Parsons New York, NASA, ESDI Rio de Janeiro, Fraunhofer, Steinbeis or the German Aerospace Center, the intercultural and interdisciplinary material engineering opens to date unexpected ways in for designers, developers, architects, artists and visionaries and make BARK CLOTH the innovation and market leader for biomaterials based on tree bark.

The former development partnership with the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and its implementation organization GIZ provides now hundreds of craftswomen and farmer families with a secure income by far above usual local standards.

Meanwhile, BARK CLOTH is also cooperating with farmers and artisan groups in Brazil, PNG and Honduras, sourcing renewable semi-finished fiber goods for architectural uses and design products. In the global village, the small BARK CLOTH group practices continuously successfully value-adding against the tide. We invest explicitly, where commonly investments are considered as risky, but manageable for us due to strong (familiar) ties in the production areas.

Tree bark fleece from Uganda

The most ancient textile of mankind and UNESCO World Cultural heritage

Tree bark fleece from Uganda is said to be the most ancient textile in the history of humanity. Until the end of the 19th century, the most precious bark cloths were exclusively reserved for the monarchs of the nearly millennial kingdom of Buganda. In 2005, UNESCO declared the artisan production process of bark cloth a “Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Cultural Heritage”, followed by its admission to the list of Immaterial World Cultural Heritage in 2008.

The permanently renewable bark of the East African „Mutuba“ fig tree is harvested every year without felling the tree. It is the basis for a wide range of textiles and composites, which are manufactured in low-energy, partly CO2-emission-free-processes. They are distributed under the brand name of BARKTEX®.

According to an African myth, man came to take possession of the earth through the Mutuba tree. Modern archeology verifies Africa as cradle of mankind. And every connoisseur, who ever held a piece of bark cloth in his hand, understands the heart of this myth: the close symbiosis between man and bark as a grown, age-old relationship.

Discover a unique material

Each piece is an exquisitely handcrafted individual, telling you its own story

Designers and architects value the expressive character, unique texture and sensual tactility of the bark cloth tree bark fleece. Depending on lighting conditions, angle of viewing, finishing, and temperament of its producer the soft, moldable cloth changes from the supple, but robust charm of leather to the translucent and graceful lightness of filmy fleeces.

“The allure of this exceptional material comes from its inimitable structure and the fascinating game played between ancient authenticity and state-of-the-art finishes and uses… It is ideal to serve for products and architectural projects where individuality plays a central role.”

Humberto Campana

Pure and real, thousands of years old, though ahead of its time, it concentrates style and design down to the bare essentials. For whichever application, you are sure to use a unique masterpiece.

 

Website: http://barktex.com/en
Contact: info@barkcloth.de

Ein interkulturelles Familienunternehmen – seit 1999

Archaische BioWerkstoffe und wegweisende Prozesse

Das ugandisch-deutsche Familienunternehmen BARK CLOTH ist Pionier systematischer Rindentuch-Entwicklung und -Produktion. Es kooperiert dabei seit 1999 mit ugandischen Biobauern.

Die Barongo-Heintz Familie hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dem archaischen Rindentuch durch modernste, aber sozio-kulturell und an die Infrastruktur angepasste Produktionsverfahren der Textil-, Holz-, Leder- und Papiertechnologie mehr Funktionalität zu verleihen, um heutigen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden: Bark Cloth goes BARKTEX®.

Die Gründer und Inhaber Mary Barongo und Oliver Heintz.

Stetig entstehen in unseren Manufakturen in Uganda und Deutschland neue, weltweit einzigartige Textilien und Verbundwerkstoffe – zumeist gefertigt, in energiearmen, teilweise gänzlich CO2-emissionsfreien Verfahren. So verbindet BARKTEX® die reiche Ornamentik und Kunstfertigkeit Afrikas mit innovativer Veredelung, europäischer Praktikabilität und einem Hauch von Zen. Ein globales Stück Stoff.

Hand in Hand mit namhaften Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen wie Fraunhofer, Steinbeis, Design Academy Eindhoven, London Metropolitan University, Parsons New York, ESDI Rio de Janeiro, der NASA oder dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt öffnet das interkulturelle und interdisziplinäre Material-Engineering bislang ungeahnte Wege im Design und macht BARK CLOTH zum Innovationsführer für BioWerkstoffe aus Baumrinde.

Das ehemalige Entwicklungshilfeprojekt mit dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) und seiner Implementationsorganisation Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) sichert heute hunderten ugandischen Handwerkerinnen und Bauernfamilien ein stetiges Einkommen deutlich oberhalb ortsüblicher Löhne.

Inzwischen kooperiert BARK CLOTH auch mit kleinbäuerlichen Betrieben und Handwerkerinnen in Brasilien, Honduras und Papua-Neuguinea, um von dort handgefertigte Faserhalbzeuge für architektonische Anwendungen und Designprodukte zu beschaffen. Im ‚Global Village‘, praktiziert die kleine BARK CLOTH Gruppe kontinuierlich erfolgreich Wertschöpfung gegen den Strom. Daher investieren wir explizit dort, wo Investitionen gemeinhin als riskant gelten, für uns hingegen aufgrund starker familiärer Bande das Risiko überschaubar ist.

Baumrindenvlies aus Uganda

Das älteste Textil der Menschheit und UNESCO Welterbe.

Baumrindenvlies – englisch Bark Cloth, zu Deutsch Rindentuch – aus Uganda gilt als ältestes Textil der Menschheitsgeschichte. Bis zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts waren die edelsten dieser Tuche den Monarchen der zweitältesten Dynastie der Erde, des fast tausendjährigen Königreichs Buganda vorbehalten. Die handwerkliche Herstellung des Rindentuchs wurde 2005 von der UNESCO zum „Meisterwerk des mündlichen und immateriellen Kulturerbes“ deklariert und 2008 in die Liste der Kulturgüter des immateriellen Welterbes eingetragen.

Die sich permanent erneuernde Rinde des ostafrikanischen Feigenbaums „Mutuba“ wird jährlich geerntet, ohne den Baum zu fällen. Sie ist die Basis für eine breite Palette von Textilien und Verbundwerkstoffen, die durch energiearme, teils gänzlich CO2-emissionsfreie Verfahren gewonnen und unter dem Namen BARKTEX® vertrieben werden.

Ein uralter Mythos aus Uganda berichtet, dass der Mensch durch den Feigenbaum auf die Erde trat, um sie in Besitz zu nehmen. Die moderne Archäologie bestätigt Afrika als Wiege der Menschheit. Und jeder Kenner, der einmal ein Stück Rindentuch in seinen Händen hielt, versteht den Kern dieses Mythos: die enge Symbiose zwischen Mensch und Baumrinde als eine uralte, gewachsene Beziehung.

Ein einzigartiges Material

Jedes Exemplar ist exquisit handgefertigt

Designer und Architekten schätzen den ausdrucksstarken Charakter, die einzigartige Textur und die sinnliche Haptik der Baumrindenvliese. Je nach Lichtsituation und Blickwinkel gewinnt das weiche, aber robuste Material die Anmutung von Leder oder die Leichtigkeit und Transluzenz eines zarten Organza-Stoffs.

„Der Reiz dieses ungewöhnlichen Materials liegt in seiner einzigartigen Struktur und der spannenden Verbindung von archaischer Ursprünglichkeit und neuzeitlichen Veredelungs- und Verwendungsmöglichkeiten… Damit ist es wie geschaffen für den Einsatz in Produkten und architektonischen Anwendungen, bei denen hohe Individualität eine zentrale Rolle spielt.“

Humberto Campana

Pur und echt, entstanden in einem über tausende Jahre perfektioniertem Prozess und dennoch seiner Zeit voraus, reduziert es Stil und Form auf das Wesentliche. Für welche Anwendung auch immer, Sie nutzen stets ein einzigartiges Meisterwerk.

 

Webseite: http://barktex.com/
Kontakt: info@barkcloth.de